Kolcraft Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Kolcraft
Shop Baby Products or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller

Contours Optima Tandem Stroller

Enjoy all the robust features of a deluxe Contours tandem stroller in a lighter frame.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers recommend.
Customer Reviews for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Review 1 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Semi happy

Date:January 29, 2014
stillstrollingmomma
Location: St. John, IN
About me: Parent
Number of Children: 2
Child Age: 18 - 24 months
I bought this stroller when my second daughter was born with the hopes that it would last us until both were out of a stroller. I am thinking this may not be the case.
I adored the stroller upon purchase and was coming from a Bugaboo single stroller - which is AMAZING. Being that we couldn't afford the cost of the double bugaboo, we found this option. All seemed to be going well until about 8 months into owning this stroller and the tray fell off and then a screw fell out of the handle.
Our second issues is that the seats mildewed while in the back of our truck. I am hoping to get them replaced but have yet been able to speak to someone about this issue.
For now, we are sucking it up and using blankets to cover the chairs and a "placeholder screw" for now. Fingers crossed the customer service isn't lacking or my review might have an addendum.
Overall it was a great stroller. Easy to fold - sort of. (Again, I am used to the bugaboo that you can fold with one hand)
Sometimes it was hard to maneuver. The seats are a bit flimsy for my 2 year old and she could slide out if not strapped with the harness. If the foot rests were placed just right, her feet would drag the ground. Could be more sturdy here.
My Favorite Feature:versatility in the seats
-10points
Review 2 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works for my twins

Date:November 6, 2013
Twinmom
About me: Parent
Number of Children: 4
Child Age: 9 - 12 months
I've been back and forth with my stroller since I bought it. It's long, and feels bulky. It's no longer than any regular tandem stroller, but with options like the City Select, you can get shorter ones. That said, the City Select is more than twice the price, the storage basket underneath is a joke, and it doesn't come with a parent tray or belly bars...
I've been using my Kolcraft stroller for 9 months with my twins girls. First with the bucket car seats, and I've just started using the actual seats. My only real complaint is that there are no snack trays for the babies and they are not available to purchase. Some days it does feel long and bulky, but it folds up easily and compactly (as long as you remove one seat). With twins, I need my stroller everywhere (not many shopping carts hold 2 kids) so I make excellent use of the storage basket when shopping.
I recently noticed one of my back wheels was wobbling. I pulled the wheel off to discover that the axel is bent. I'm not sure how this happened, as the metal is too strong to bend it back. I called customer service and got an agent right away. She asked me a few questions about the stroller and my purchase and arranged to ship a new axel to me, free of charge, even though I am in Canada! So impressed!
My Favorite Feature:Included parent tray
Pros: plenty of storage underneath, parent tray included deep cup holders, great customer service, kids can face any direction, easy to swap seats around, reasonably priced
Cons: very long, doesn't fold well with both seats attached, kids cup holders come apart easily, no available kids tray
+12points
Review 3 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great option for twins yet it could be improved

Date:September 9, 2013
Alfredo
Location: new york city
About me: Parent
Number of Children: 2
Child Age: 3 - 6 months
First of all,
Thank you for this great stroller for twins.
Pros
1. Lightweight
2. Easy to handle
3. Lasting wheel material.
4. Loved the peek in windows located on the canopies.
Yet, there is room for few functional improvements
1. Rise the baby seat connector say 5 to 10 ". I am quite sure the center of gravity wont be out of the stroller preventing from tumbling to its sides. We have trouble with low or none clearance between the baby stroller and the storage basket whenever we go shopping. Which in return reduces the seat's functionality.
2.Infant head rest need to be more padded. Often, we have to stop and place a rolled cloth or towel between our daughters head and the frame. So the they dont hurt themselves with the stroller frame.
3. Add another folding hook.
4. Design g a simple stopper for the front wheels that prevent them from turning a 360 degrees when the stroller is folded. Many times the as the stroller is folded the front wheels turn back and does not allow the folding hook to reach the pin.
5. These are minimal and inexpensive improvements that can be corrected easily.
My Favorite Feature:the six positions
+17points
Review 4 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fits in my Nissan Altima Hybrid Trunk

Date:June 11, 2013
Mel
About me: Expecting
Number of Children: 1
Child Age: 18 - 24 months
I cannot believe this actually fits in my hybrid trunk but it does! I was choosing between this stroller and one of the Phil & Teds double strollers but I kept coming back to this stroller even though I didn't think it would fit. I am so happy to say that it does. Not only that but my son loves it, my infant carseat matches it perfectly, it's good looking, and it drives like a dream. I am very satisfied with my purchase.
My Favorite Feature:Fits in my Nissan Altima Hybrid trunk
+5points
Review 5 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not happy with seats

Date:June 8, 2013
Dana
About me: Parent
Number of Children: 2
Child Age: 9 - 12 months
I have twin boys- I loved this stroller for the infant seats. The stroller is a little large and not the lightest to lift in to the car- but it moves around great. I have recommended this stroller many times. My boys are now too old for the infant seats and we now are using the regular seats. They have only been using these seats for a couple of months- and one of the seats buckled. When I started to look to see if it was something I could fix- I was less then impressed to find the type of material that is used for the support in the seat. It is a thin plastic/cardboard. Now- I have to purchase a new seat- which is a hassle in itself. But I am wondering how long it is be before the other seat does the same thing?! Also- the basket has already ripped. I am very careful with my things. I did not want to purchase another stroller. But- I have been using this stroller for less then a year- I am dependent on a stroller- I was really hoping this one would stand up.
Response from Kolcraft:By ContoursBabyMarketingJune 11, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Contours Optima Tandem Stroller. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear about your experience thus far. Because this stroller comes with a 1-year warranty on workmanship and materials, please contact our customer service team for further assistance at 1-888-226-4469 or customerservice@contoursbaby.com. We apologize for any inconvenience and look forward to assisting you.
+6points
Review 6 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it but...

Date:May 31, 2013
AugTwins
Location: Brentwood, CA
About me: Parent
Number of Children: 2
Child Age: 9 - 12 months
I love this stroller for my twins. We did A LOT of research and test driving strollers and we always came back to this one. I love that my twins can face each other and play footsy! The car seat adapters were fantastic too! I highly recommend this stroller for twins. BUT with everything there are a few flaws, similar to another post the handle that locks into place doesn't work properly and the black thing it snaps into seems to be warped. We have to unfold the stroller a certain way to get it to work. Also, the bottom basket is wearing out on the top. Not huge deals for us because we love the stroller and would purchase another because like with everything, nothing is 100% perfect.
My Favorite Feature:My babies can face each other :)
Response from Kolcraft:By ContoursBabyMarketingJune 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Contours Optima Tandem Stroller. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear about the issues you are having with the handle and fold. Because this stroller comes with a one-year warranty on workmanship and materials, please contact our customer service team at 1-888-226-4469 or customerservice@contoursbaby.com. We apologize for the inconvenience and look forward to assisting you. Thank you again for your review of the Contours Optima Tandem.
+1point
Review 7 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

THE stroller with ALL the options!

Date:February 18, 2013
MomMart
Location: Chicago, IL
About me: Expecting
Number of Children: 2
Child Age: 2 - 3 years
My favorite thing about this double stroller is the fact that it has so many seating options and will be able to grow with my family. Right now my two boys like to face each other and talk while we are out and about, but they are not always so agreeable and I love that I have the option to change the direction both seats face to suit our current mood.
I love that there is a parent tray. A lot of strollers are doing away with this feature and it drives me crazy. I need my parent tray. I drink hot coffee in the morning and I need a secure place to put it while taking my kiddos out for a walk. If we are going for a short walk – I don’t always need my entire diaper bag either, so a place to put a cell phone and keys is nice too. The parent tray clips on, but can be removed if you so choose to remove it. The kids even have removable cups holders as well.
I really like that I don’t have to remove the seats in order to collapse the stroller. It can be folded with both seats still attached {I do this with my seats facing each other}.
The stroller is very adjustable. The height of the 5-point-harness is adjustable as well as the canopies. This is a convenience that I do not take lightly since I have a couple of very tall boys who do not always fit in standard strollers. I love that the seats themselves can recline and the footrest is adjustable too.
I am also a big fan of the HUGE storage basket. I have a love of big diaper bags and big purses and I need a place to put them when strolling with my family. The storage basket is large and leaves plenty of room for extra shopping bags – even when my diaper bag is in there too.
My kids like to ride around the house in this stroller on rainy days. It is such a blessing!
My Favorite Feature:Seating Options
+16points
Review 8 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Date:December 30, 2012
Anonymous
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
About me: Parent
Number of Children: 4
Child Age: 12 - 18 months
Only hesitation of it not being a 5 star recommendation is that nuts and bolts that came pre-assembled on the frame at the handle /base/ basket connection keep getting loose and then the handle won't stay latched while pushing. Another negative is that the child cup holders easily pop off. I lost one in the mall parking lot while putting the stroller away. You must remove cup holders before colapsing stroller.
It was a wonderful help at Disneyworld with a 4 month old and 2 year old. My infant slept in the reclined position and if my toddler fell asleep it was very nice to smoothly recline his seat. A bit difficult to collapse and take on their buses, but any tandem stroller would be bulky.
My Favorite Feature:Children are comfortable and easy to steer with one hand
Pros: very easy to stear even one handed, roomy storage, smooth reclining seats, green / gray color option
Cons: childrens cup holders pop off easily i lost one, preassembled frame nuts/bolts lossen where colapse
Response from Kolcraft:By ContoursBabyMarketingJanuary 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Contours Optima Tandem Stroller. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear about your experience. If the handle does not remain in the locked position while in use, please discontinue use of your stroller and contact our customer service department for a replacement stroller. You can reach us at customerservice@contoursbaby.com or 888-226-4469 and we will be happy to assist you. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
+7points
Review 9 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Worth the $!

Date:December 4, 2012
mama2girls
About me: Parent
Number of Children: 2
Child Age: 2 - 3 years
I bought this stroller after debating on whether or not to trade in my old singleton stroller at a local babystore for 25% off of a double stroller before my second baby is born in less than two weeks. I did a LOT of research and unfortunately this stroller was unavailable at my local store. I ordered this one and I have to say that I was not disappointed!
It was easy enough for me to put together by myself at 9 months pregnant. It took me maybe 20 minutes with a screw driver. Once assembled I was able to easily take the seats off and try all of the seating options, and folding it did not give me a hard time at all. I do recommend removing one seat for folding (you can store the seat in the stroller after it is folded), and the stroller does stand alone when folded and doesn't take up much more space than my single stroller.
It steered quite easily with my 25lb 2.5 year old daughter in the front and my 20lb 6 month old nephew in the back seat on both grass and gravel. They loved being able to face each other and I really am glad that I have the ability to have both seats face me, both face the front, or face each other. I also tried the car seat adapter with both a Safety First Designer 22 infant seat and a Chicco Keyfit infant seat and they both fit.
The seats have three reclining options, adjustable footrests, good size canopies and the material is wipeable yet soft. I have nothing negative to say about this stroller and it was well worth the time I spent researching it. It can be a little hard to find because not all stores carry it but online ordering was easy enough for me. I do not live anywhere near a buy buy baby though so if you do and they carry it you are in luck.
My Favorite Feature:six seating options
Pros: reversible/removable seats, comes with infant carseat adapter, nice quality seat material, gender neutra colors, large basket
+5points
Review 10 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great stroller!

Date:November 12, 2012
WalkersPlus3
About me: Parent
Number of Children: 3
Child Age: 18 - 24 months
I bought this stroller a few months before our 3rd child arrived. I knew I needed a stroller for a newborn and a 2 year old and did a lot of reading cause I didn't know which would be the most convenient for the kids. I wanted something comfortable and easy to fold. After the first time using the stroller my husband and I were really pleased as it rode smoothly. The handle bar was high and large enough for you to hold on to. Now that our daughter is here, I have used it with the carseat base and without it. My 2 year old son loves it. I like that he can recline and rest at the same time as my 1 month old. I have used it at my older sons practice and games to carry everything in the storage area and my daughter can sleep in her seat while my 2 year old sits in his. I love that I can switch their seats around, use only one seat and add extra storage, and that both seats can recline. The only minor things I would change would be the basket not to drag as much when the stroller is folded which isn't too bad and the straps to be a little more softer of a strap. They are a little rough nylon and doesn't feel very soft. Also when my 2 year old is facing inward he can kick the other seat and wake up my one month old. Just need to make sure he is asleep when I face him inward. It folds away nicely in the back if our van with extra space for other items. Overall we love this stroller and would highly recommend it to any family with small children.
My Favorite Feature:Using the stroller everywhere.
Pros: seats two, easy to use and manipulate, rides smoothly, narrow so it fits through all doorways, great versatility
Cons: easier to fold with two people
+4points
Review 11 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Last Stroller We Will Ever Own

Date:October 21, 2012
manvsbaby
About me: Parent
Number of Children: 2
Child Age: 2 - 3 years
To a certain extent, with a double stroller, you’re either jammed if you do, and jammed if you don’t. The double-wides struggle to fit through doorways, and front-and-back two-seaters can be tough to maneuver. But the Contours Optima really minimizes the pain with its user-friendly design, ample storage space and intuitive features.
To start with, assembly on the Optima was an absolute cinch (and I am far from an engineer). As I took it out of the box, I started to have a quiet panic attack at the sheer number of parts strewn across my living room floor. But once construction began, I almost didn’t need the instructions. The frequent snaps and clicks reassured me that I was doing it the right way, and the only part I got stuck on was the silliest—the attaching of the storage basket. Even with that misstep, the thing was completely ready for action is less than 45 minutes.
As we have a newborn and two year-old, I can only speak to one configuration of this stroller, which is the last (of four) we will surely own. It can be put in a variety of different positions, with the kids facing each other, both facing forward, one seat, two seats, etc. And the car seat attachment (included) is as simple as it folds out, you put your little bean’s seat on top. There is a safety strap if you are planning some off-roading, but the design is plenty safe without it.
The stroller also has plenty of great plusses, including:
• Detachable cup holders for the kids (which our two year-old loves), and two permanent ones for mom and dad.
• Lots of great storage space underneath for diaper bags, purses, rain gear, groceries, etc.
• Comfortable, non-slip grip and easy steering for one hand or two.
• Sharp-looking design. I feel like I’m driving the Cadillac of strollers and heads are turning.
• Folds up easily and quickly and doesn’t take up too much room in the foyer and the trunk. The seat(s) pop right off for storage purposes.
• Freedom. Before we got this, we were rocking two strollers, and it was a nightmare. Now we take this thing everywhere; it’s like our second vehicle.
• Flexibility. The design obviously allows for different configurations, but you can also put the feet down or up on the seats, which our son appreciates.
• The little things. Wheel locks are easy to use and reliable. The wheels themselves are tough, with good tread. The rain covers are nice and effective.
On the negative side, there’s nothing overwhelmingly bad about it! A couple very nitpicky things would be:
• It is heavy. Even without the seats (which are really light), my wife can not carry this by herself; if it needs to go in the car or up the stairs, that is my job. And it is somewhat awkward to carry.
• Every so often when you fold it up, the front wheels get in a weird position that prevents you from being able to put the locking device on—it’s just an inch or two short. But you merely have to extend the wheels back out and try again and that does the trick. This can also be avoided, as you learn more about it through use.
• As is the nature of the beast, the thing is long. It takes some getting used to, because you can’t reach your hand out in front of it to open a door, e.g., while steering. I still prefer it to the double-wide, but it takes some getting used to.
Overall, though, this stroller is much more than we expected or hoped for, and we love it. As I mentioned, this will definitely be the last stroller we own, which is a relief in and of itself. Having two kids is hard enough; you don't need a stroller to complicate your life. This stroller is about as good and easy as it gets.
My Favorite Feature:Intuitive, sleek design
+13points
Review 12 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Infant Car Seat

Date:October 10, 2012
yihchin
About me: Parent
May I use the below Infant Car Seat on both stroller
Flex-Loc Infant Car Seat - Carbon
Item #: CS41710
http://www.babytrend.com/car_seats_flex-loc/CS41710.html
1.Contours Options LT Tandem Stroller
2.Contours® Optima™ Tandem Stroller
Response from Kolcraft:By Kim @ KolcraftMarketingOctober 26, 2012
Thank you for your question. Neither the Contours Optima Tandem nor the Contours Options LT Tandem are compatible with the Baby Trend Flex-Loc infant car seat. Below is a list of infant car seat that the Optima and Options LT can accommodate:
Britax® B-Safe®
Britax® Chaperone
Chicco® KeyFit
Chicco® KeyFit 30
Combi® Shuttle 33
Cosco® First Ride DX
Cosco® Starter
Evenflo® Discovery™
Evenflo® Discovery 5™
Evenflo® Embrace™
Evenflo® Embrace™ 5
Evenflo® Embrace™ 5 LX
Evenflo® Serenade™
Graco® Safe Seat
Graco® SnugRide® Infant
Graco® SnugRide® 30
Graco® SnugRide® 32
Graco® SnugRide® 35
Maxi-Cosi® Mico™
Peg Perego® Primo Viaggio
Peg Perego® Primo Viaggio SIP
Peg Perego® Primo Viaggio SIP 30/30
Safety 1st® Designer® 22
Safety 1st® onBoard™ 35
Safety 1st® onBoard™ 35 AIR

We hope this helps! Thank you!
+6points
Review 13 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I LOVE THIS STROLLER!

Date:October 1, 2012
Woman of Many Roles
Location: Princton, KS
About me: Parent
Number of Children: 3
Child Age: 12 - 18 months
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This stroller is great for any mom of two little ones. It has many options on how you can position your little one. That's my favorite part. I can have them facing each other, back to back, just one, and I can have an infant carrier and my toddler. I love the ability to change and how easy it is to change!
My Favorite Feature:The different positions!
Pros: easy to change, different position, design
+5points
Review 14 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Double Stroller

Date:September 10, 2012
Amy
About me: Parent
Number of Children: 2
Child Age: 12 - 18 months
Stroller is light-weight and easy to handle. Provides versatile seating for both children. Large canopies provide excellent shade.
My Favorite Feature:Seating Flexibility
+5points
Review 15 for Contours Optima Tandem Stroller
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Many Seating Options!!

Date:August 10, 2012
thebennettsblog.com
Child Age: 12 - 18 months
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The Contours® Optima™ Tandem Stroller offers a new approach to tandem/front-back strollers. It has SIX different seating positions: children can both face parent, face forward, back-to-back, face each other (my favorite) or if only one child is with you, the back seat can be removed altogether and you have extra storage space in the basket below-perfect for shopping.
It has stadium seating allowing the baby in the back to sit a little higher than the one in the front,which allows them to see out better...and with so many different positioning options, you can reposition the seat to suit them best. Safety, comfort and versatility must have been at the forefront of Contours® mind when developing the Optima™ tandem stroller and it shows!
My Favorite Feature:Seating Flexibility
+3points